Scenic Regional Library Board Minutes - February 6, 2016

Scenic Regional Library Board of Trustees met at the Union Branch on February 6, 2016, at 9:00 am. Carol Leech presided at the meeting. Those attending the meeting were John Barry, Carol Bell, Leonard Butts, John Cheatham, Joy Dufrain, Kathi Ham, Bob Niebruegge, Susan Richardson, Carla Robertson and Diann Wacker. Steven Campbell, Library Director, Dan Brower, Assistant Director, Brenda Allee-Bates, Business Manager and Human Resources Manager, Diane Disbro, Union Branch Manager, Christy Schink, Youth Services Librarian and Charlean Stockton, Administrative Assistant, were also present.

The board interviewed four architectural firms regarding the building and Architect renovation of the Scenic Regional Library branches; Bond Architects, FGM Architects, JEMA/SAPP Design and Clark-Enersen Partners.

After hearing the pitches and asking each firm a set of questions, the **Lunch** board broke for lunch which was catered by Hagies Nineteen.

Immediately after lunch, the board reconvened to discuus the intereviews. An initial informal tally showed that Bond, JEMA/SAPP and Clark-Enersen were all very close; FGM was eliminated from the running. There was much discussion of the remaining firms and the strengths and weakness of each and whether they were local or if they had someone local who would be managing the job. Price, innovative building ideas and design were also discussed. It was then narrowed down to JEMA/SAPP and Clark Enersen, and more discussion was held.

John Barry exited the meeting at 1:30 pm.

A preliminary vote was taken and it was 5-4 in JEMA/SAPP's favor. Discussion was made about hiring a local firm to return funds to the communities that voted for Scenic Regional Library's tax increase. Carol felt it was time to take a formal vote.

Leonard Butts made the motion to take a formal vote on the matter; it was seconded by John Cheatham. There was a roll call vote: Leonard Butts-Clark-Enersen, Joy Dufrain-JEMA/SAPP, Carla Robertson-JEMA/SAPP, Carol Bell— Clark-Enersen, Susan Richardson— Abstained. John Cheatham— JEMA/SAPP. Kathi Ham— JEMA/SAPP, Bob Niebruegge— Clark-Enersen, Diann Wacker— JEMA/SAPP, and Carol Leech— JEMA/SAPP. JEMA/SAPP was chosen 6-3.

There being no further business, Carol Leech adjourned the meeting at 3:30 pm.

Secretary

Interviews

Discussion and Selection

Roll Call Vote

Approved:

Date:_____